Blogs I Follow

BLOGS AND RSS FEEDS

About.com:Geology, by Andrew Alden, because, well, it’s about geology, http://geology.about.com/

Adventures in Geology, which endeavors to show how geology is related to our everyday lives, http://adventuresingeology.com/

Agile Geoscience, a geoscience consulting practice based in Nova Scotia, Canada, by Matt Hall and Evan Bianco, http://www.agilegeoscience.com/

American Journal of Botany paleobotany postings, http://www.amjbot.org/

Asperger’s Diary, by Aspie, Psychology Today expert, and author Lynne Soraya (a nom de plume): http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/aspergers-diary

Bad Astronomy, by Boulderite Phil Plait, which is part of the “Slate” line of blogs: http://www.slate.com/blogs/bad_astronomy.html

BBC News Science & Environment, http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science_and_environment/

Bioephemera, by geologist-artist Jessica Palmer: http://bioephemera.com/blog/

Canadian Hiking Photography — Wow, the pictures!: http://hikingphoto.com/

Cast Light, “a simple reminder that we have a choice to be positive or negative; we can cast light or cast shadows — always choose light”: http://cast-light.com/

Clastic Detritus, a blog about sedimentary geology by Virginia Tech prof. Brian Romans, http://clasticdetritus.com/

Cosmos Magazine (the science of everything), http://www.cosmosmagazine.com/

Dragonfly Editorial, because I like the name (and because I’m an editor), http://www.dragonflyeditorial.com/blog/

Dragonfly Wars, by me (Kea Giles), because it is my personal blog, http://keagiles.blogspot.com/

Eight Crayon Science, science illustrated with crayons!, http://www.eightcrayonscience.com/blog/

Eruptions, a Wired Science blog by Erik Klemetti, http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/eruptions/

GeoCastAway, el blog y podcast de geología y ciencias de la tierra (en español), http://geocastaway.com/

GeoLog, the official blog of the European Geosciences Union, http://egugeolog.wordpress.com/

Georneys, an AGU blog by Evelyn Mervine, http://blogs.agu.org/georneys/

Geotripper, news from the geologic realm, http://geotripper.blogspot.com/

Global Grasshopper, travel inspiration and photography, http://www.globalgrasshopper.com/

Good Math, Bad Math, by Mark Chu-Carroll, whose goal is to “ramble about the beauty of mathematics,” among other things, http://www.goodmath.org/blog/

Highly Allochthonous, a geoscience blog by scientists Anne Jefferson and Chris Rowan, http://all-geo.org/highlyallochthonous/

History of Geology, by David Bressan (the title speaks for itself), http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/history-of-geology/

Invariant Properties, because it is my husband’s blog; I don’t pretend to understand it, http://invariantproperties.com/

Jeff Sullivan Photography, for incredible photographs, especially of the sky, http://activesole.blogspot.com/

Knight Science Journalism Tracker, what MIT calls “peer review within science journalism,” http://ksj.mit.edu/tracker

KQED Quest, a science blog from San Francisco’s great public broadcasting station, http://science.kqed.org/quest/

Phenomena, a National Geographic blog by Brian Switek (@Laelaps), author of Written in Stone, http://phenomena.nationalgeographic.com/

Letters of Note, a site edited by Shaun Usher that digs up old letters of interest or, well, of note, and posts the online, http://www.lettersofnote.com/

LiveScience, http://www.livescience.com/

Looking for Detachment, geology and photography posts via a professional geologist, http://highway8a.blogspot.com/

Magma Cum Laude, a blog about all-things volcano by geoscience graduate student Jessica Ball, part of the AGU Blogosphere, http://blogs.agu.org/magmacumlaude/

Mark and Angel Hack Life, “practical thoughts on a broad range of topics,” http://www.marcandangel.com/

NASA’s Astronomy Pix of the Day (APOD), http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/astropix.html

Neurotribes, a PLoS blog by author and online science maven Steve Silberman, http://blogs.plos.org/neurotribes/

Obesity Panacea, another PLoS blog by exercise physiologists Peter Janiszewski and Travis Saunders, http://blogs.plos.org/obesitypanacea/

On Becoming a Domestic and Laboratory Goddess by Dr. Isis. No words can aptly describe this blog. Just read it: http://isisthescientist.com/

PL0S (Public Library of Science) blog network, http://blogs.plos.org/

Prof Hacker, a The Chronicle of Higher Education blog that provides “tips about teaching, technology, and productivity,” http://chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/

Save the Media, by journalist and Ph.D. candidate Gina Masullo Chen, http://savethemedia.com/

Science News, http://www.sciencenews.org/

Scientist at Work, a New York Times “notes from the field” blog, http://scientistatwork.blogs.nytimes.com/

Scientific American Guest Blog, http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/guest-blog/ (here’s the post I wrote: “Social Media for Science: The Geologic Perspective,” http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/guest-blog/2011/03/17/social-media-for-science-the-geologic-perspective/)

Soapbox Science, a Nature community guest blog, http://blogs.nature.com/soapboxscience

Speaking of Geoscience, a blog by geologists and members of The Geological Society of America, http://geosociety.wordpress.com/

State of the Planet, Columbia University’s The Earth Institute science blog, http://blogs.ei.columbia.edu/

Sysomos, a blog about social media by Mark Evans, http://blog.sysomos.com/

The Buttry Diary, by Steve Buttry, director of Digital First Media’s Community Engagement & Social Media, http://stevebuttry.wordpress.com/

The Dragonfly Woman, for education, insight, and pictures of dragonflies and other neat bugs, http://thedragonflywoman.com/

The Landslide Blog, by Dave Petley, also part of the AGU Blogosphere, http://blogs.agu.org/landslideblog/

The Thinking Person’s Guide to Autism, a project of the Myers-Rosa Foundation, edited by a consortium of writers and other experts, http://thinkingautismguide.blogspot.com/

Through the Sandglass, by geologist Michael Welland, author of Sand: The Never-Ending Story, http://throughthesandglass.typepad.com/

The Whirlpool of Life, a beautiful and profound blog about nature and how the living world works and how we perceive it, by Scott D. Sampson, http://scottsampson.blogspot.com/

Time Healthland, particularly posts by Maia Szalavitz, http://healthland.time.com/author/maiasz/

Urban Extension, flora and fauna of Corfe Mullen, an ancient Dorset village, http://urbanextension.wordpress.com/

Wooster Geologists, a faculty blog from the Dept. of Geology at The College of Wooster, http://woostergeologists.scotblogs.wooster.edu/

Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s